ACRA 2018

Australasian Conference on Robotics and Automation 2018

This event is jointly organised by the Australian Robotics and Automation Association (ARAA) and the National Science Challenge Robotics Spearhead Project and proudly hosted by Lincoln Agritech.

Clive Marsh (General Chair) and Ian Woodhead (Programme Chair)

Event details:
4-6 December, 2018
Lincoln University, Lincoln, Canterbury, New Zealand
For event details and registration, click here.

Registration includes a conference registration pack with your name tag and conference proceedings. It is a catered event – there will be session breaks and refreshments on offer. Morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea will be provided. If you have dietary requirements, please contact Melissa Wong (

Accommodation options are listed here.

Registration costs (NZD):
Early bird – register by 11 pm (NZ time), 7 November 2018
General admission $575.00
Student admission $402.50

Regular price  – register by 1 December 2018
General admission$632.50
Student admission $460.00

Key dates:
Paper Submission Deadline:
Extended till 3 October 2018 at 5.00 pm (NZ time)
Click here to submit your paper.
Notification of Acceptance:
17 October 2018
Final manuscript Deadline:
20 November 2018

Submission of papers
All full papers submitted to ACRA 2018 will undergo a peer-review process. Each manuscript will be reviewed by at least two reviewers who will give detailed comments. If the submission is accepted, the authors will submit a revised (“camera-ready”) version that takes into account this feedback. The review process is managed by the program chair of the conference.

All papers are reviewed using a single-blind review process: authors declare their names and affiliations in the manuscript for the reviewers to see, but reviewers do not know each other’s identities, nor do the authors receive information about who has reviewed their manuscript.

Programme outline

Tuesday 4 December

8.45am – 9.00am Opening Intro
9.00 am– 9.30am Keynote 1: David Howard, CSIRO
9.30am – 10.30am Session 1; four paper presentations
10.30am – 11.00am Morning tea
11.00am – 12.30pm Session 2; six paper presentations
12.30 pm – 1.30pm Lunch
1.30pm – 2.00pm Keynote 2: Bruce McDonald, University of Auckland
2.00pm – 3.15pm Session 3; five paper presentations
3.15pm – 3.45pm Afternoon tea
3.45pm – 5.00pm Session 4; five paper presentations
7.00pm Evening meal

Wednesday 5 December

9.00 am– 9.30am Keynote 3: Johan Potgeiter, Massey University
9.30am – 10.00am Keynote 4: Alvin Reed, Dairy Farmer, South Canterbury
10.00am – 10.30am Morning tea
10.30am – 12.30pm Session 5; eight paper presentations – Best paper awards session
12.30 pm – 1.30pm Lunch
1.30pm – 2.30pm Marketplace 1; 12 x 5 minutes presentations from industry – Invert Robotics, C-Dax, Crown Forklifts, Talbot Plastics, Pastoral Robotics, Waratah NZ, LIC, IOSYS, GEA +++
2.30pm – 3.30pm Afternoon tea and industry networking
3.30pm – 4.00pm Marketplace 2; 20 x 1.5 minutes presentations from researchers
4.00pm – 5.00pm Marketplace discussions and networking
7.00pm Banquet

Thursday 6 December

9.00 am– 9.30am Keynote 5: Manoj Karkee, Washington State University
9.30am – 10.30am Session 6; four paper presentations
10.30am – 11.00am Morning tea
11.00am – 12.00pm Session 7; four paper presentations
12.30 pm – 1.30pm Lunch