ACRA 2017

Australasian Conference on Robotics and Automation 2017

11-13 December, 2017 at The University of Technology, Sydney


The 2017 Australasian Conference on Robotics and Automation (ACRA2017) will be held on 11-13 December 2017 in Sydney, Australia at the The University of Technology Sydney and is hosted by the Centre for Autonomous Systems  of the Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology.

Call for Papers:

Prospective authors are invited to submit their papers in PDF of six  (6) to ten (10) pages in the standard ACRA format.  ACRA 2017 is a single-track conference.

All full papers submitted to ACRA 2017 will undergo a peer-review process. Each manuscript will be reviewed by at least two reviewers who will give detailed comments. If the submission is accepted, the authors will submit a revised (“camera-ready”) version that takes into account this feedback. The review process is managed by the program chair of the conference

ACRA 2017 Call for Papers (PDF)


This year, you will have unprecedented opportunity to submit your ICRA 2018 papers to ACRA 2017 (after converting to the ACRA paper format). These papers would be subjected to both ACRA and ICRA review processes independently.  The ACRA accepted papers can be presented in the ACRA 17 conference (in December), however, these full text ACRA papers won’t be published online until ICRA decisions are made in Jan 2018.  We then publish the papers which are accepted by ACRA but rejected by ICRA in ACRA 17 online proceedings.

Camera ready paper Submissions (Open): ACRA’17 paper submission site

Important Dates:


Paper submission deadline 22 September 2017 01 October 2017 (HARD DEADLINE)
Notification of acceptance 30 October 2017 7 November 2017
Camera-ready paper deadline 13 November 2017 20 November 2017
Early bird registration deadline 20 November 2017
Conference 11-13 December 2017

Student Travel Awards

This year ARAA will award two “Student Travel Awards” worth $500 + free student registration ($350) to participants in ACRA. Undergraduate and postgraduate students are welcome to apply. Application is by sending an email to the ARAA treasurer, with subject line: “Application for ACRA 2017 Student Travel Grant”.

State in the email:
· Your name
· Institution and current study program
· The paper ID that you authored (if applicable)
· Brief description of your research / interest in Robotics
· Please include a letter of support from an academic supervisor.
Applications will be open from the date of notification of paper acceptance until the date of submission of camera-ready papers. Notification of successful travel awards will be made by 20 November 2017.

About ACRA:

Since 1999, ACRA has brought together Australian and New Zealand researchers and students in the fields of robotics, automation and mechatronics. It provides a forum to present a breadth of research activities to the wider Australasian community. ACRA is a quality, peer-reviewed conference, and is featured in Scopus, Google Scholar and other ranking engines.